All Amendments in the Constitution of Pakistan 1973

There are many amendments that have been done in the Constitution of Pakistan 1973. All Amendments in the Constitution of Pakistan 1973 are given in the following lines. The Constitution of Pakistan 1973 was enforced in the country on 14 August 1973. The Constitution of Pakistan 1973 was enforced in the entire country at once.

The then Prime Minister Mr. Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto said, ” this constitution is made for everlasting time”. But we have seen that since its inception to date the Constitution of Pakistan 1073 was amended from time to time for sake of the public and many a time for sake of personal satisfaction.

Till 2019 there are 25 amendments that have been made in the Constitution of 1973. Each amendment is defined in the following lines:

1st Amendment 1974

The first amendment was made after the first year of enforcement of the Constitution. In the First Amendment, the boundaries of Pakistan were reassessed.

2nd Amendment 1974

In the same year (1974) the second amendment was made and in which the “Qadiani” people were declared non-muslims.

3rd Amendment 1975

The 3rd amendment was made on 18 February 1975 and thorough which extended the period of preventive detention, of those who are accused of committing serious cases of treason and espionage against the state of Pakistan, are also under trial by the government of Pakistan.

4th Amendment 1975

The 4th Amendment was made to enhance the Parliament seat for the minorities.

5th Amendment 1976

The 5th Amendment was adopted on 5 September 1976, by the elected Parliament of Pakistan under the democratic government of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto. The 5th Amendment widens the scope of restriction on the Pakistan High Courts to strip powers of the High Courts to enforce the grants of natural fundamental rights explained in Chapter I, Part II of the Constitution. Through 5th amendment government of Pakistan imposed the sales tax and import tax on the many consumer products. This 5th amendment also restricted the governors or chief minister to hold seats out of their own elected provinces. The maximum age of Chief Justice, as well as the term of office of the Chief Justice of Pakistan, was also set in the 5th amendment.

You also like:  The Punjab Removal from Service (Special Powers) Ordinance, 2000

6th Amendment 1976

The democratic government of Zulifqar Ali Bhutto amended the constitution 6th time and in this amendment, they have stated that the Chief Justice of Pakistan will be retired at the age of 65 and the Cheif Justice of High Courts will be retired at the age of 62.

7th Amendment 1977

On 16 May 1977, the Constitution of Pakistan was amended 7th time. It happened just one month before the end of the government of Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto. Through this amendment, an elected prime minister can obtain a Vote of Confidence by the people elected members of Parliament. The Prime Minister can also hold a referendum if he fails to get the vote of confidence.

8th Amendment 1985

The first 7 amendments in the constitution were made by the first parliamentary government of PPP in the country. After that Marshell Law was enforced in the country. The 8th amendment was made by the Dictator Zia ul Haq and gave extra powers to the President of Pakistan. In the 8th Amendment, the Presidential Form of government was also introduced.

9th Amendment 1985

Through the 9th Amendment, the government had imposed sharia law as the supreme law of the country by amending Article 2, 203B and 203D of the Constitution of Pakistan 1973.

You also like:  The General Clauses Act, 1897

10th Amendment 1987

10th Amendment made it clear that there will be no more than 130 days gap between sessions of the Parliament and Senate. It was enacted on 29 March 1987.

11th Amendment 1989

The 11th Amendment was presented on 31 August 1989 and it sought to restore the seats for Women in the National Assembly to 20. Later on, this bill was withdrawn after the government assurance that the government will do this task very soon.

12th Amendment 1991

The Expeditious justice courts for high treason criminal was established for a period of 3 years.

13th Amendment 1997

In the 13th Amendment, the powers of President to dismiss the Prime Minister and to dissolve the national assembly were stripped off.

14th Amendment 1997

By the 14th Amendment, the political party leaders received unlimited powers to dismiss any member of the parliament if they acted against the theory of the Party or do anything against the party.

15th Amendment 1998

The bill was presented to impose Sharia law in the country.

16th Amendment 1999

With the 16th Amendment, article 27 of the Constitution of Pakistan was amended to give a representation of minorities and imposed a quota for the next 40 years. The limit of this quota was 10 years before this amendment.

17th Amendment 2003

The President of Pakistan by the power of the 17th amendment holds unlimited powers.

18th Amendment 2010

In the 18th Amendment, the name of NWFP province was changed KPK. Article 6 in the constitution was introduced. The power of the President to dissolve national assembly vanished.

19th Amendment 2010

The 19th Amendment defined the rules and regulations for the appointment of the Judges of Islamabad High Court and the Supreme Court of Pakistan.

You also like:  The Punjab Animals Slaughter Control Act, 1963

20th Amendment 2012

The Office of Cheif Election Commissioner was changed to the Election Commission of Pakistan in the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of Pakistan.

21st Amendment 2015

After the incident of APS Peshawar, the Military Courts in the Country was established by the 21st Amendment.

22nd Amendment 2016

In the 22nd Amendment, the rules and regulations for the post of the Chief Election Commissioner of Pakistan were changed. Now the Beauruacrats and technocrats can also become a  member of election commission of Pakistan.

23rd Amendment 2017

In 2015 the Military courts were established for a period of 2 years. Now in 23rd Amendment, this period was extended to another 2 years.

24th Amendment 2017

With the 24th Amendment in 2017, the constituencies have been restructured based on the census results.

25th Amendment 2018

Federal Administrative Tribal Area (FATA) was merged with KPK. In 25th Amendment, the FATA was merged with KPK solely for the purpose of giving the people of FATA their due right and to facilitate the people of FATA better.

You also like these:


To conclude what has been said above is that the Constitution of Pakistan 1973 is amended 25 times since its inception. Still, there is a lot that has been left to be correct or amend which we will see in the near future.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Income Tax Return Master Course

Be a Tax Expert & Earn Money. Enroll in our Income Tax Return Master Course.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x